About Schumacher College

People from all over the world, of all ages and backgrounds, have been informed, inspired and encouraged to act by Schumacher College’s 25 years of transformative courses for sustainable living.

Schumacher College has a global reputation for cutting-edge learning. Their work is to inspire, challenge and question ourselves as co-inhabitants of the world, to ask the questions we all struggle to find answers to and to find sound knowledge, intuition and wonder in our search for solutions.

Find out more at www.schumachercollege.org.uk

 

Upcoming Earth Talks and other learning opportunities

View all events here (www.schumacher.org.uk)

Craft of Bookbinding (various times)

Craft of Bookbinding (various times)

  • Thu 28th Jul, 9:30am. Tue 2nd Aug, 9:30am. Wed 3rd Aug, 9:30am. Thu 4th Aug, 9:30am. Tue 9th Aug, 9:30am. Wed 10th Aug, 9:30am. Thu 11th Aug, 9:30am. Tue 16th Aug, 9:30am. Wed 17th Aug, 9:30am. Thu 18th Aug, 9:30am

Learn the arts of lead and brass typography or embark on your own restoration project under the guidance of skilled tutor, Mary Bartlett

View Details >>
The Right Livelihood Programme, UK and Bhutan

The Right Livelihood Programme, UK and Bhutan

  • Thu 28th Jul, 10am. Fri 29th Jul, 10am. Mon 1st Aug, 10am. Tue 2nd Aug, 10am. Wed 3rd Aug, 10am. Thu 4th Aug, 10am. Fri 5th Aug, 10am. Mon 8th Aug, 10am. Tue 9th Aug, 10am. Wed 10th Aug, 10am

A 12 month programme including 3 residential modules in the UK and Bhutan, supported by an on-line programme of study and mentoring.

View Details >>
Tai Chi Qigong

Tai Chi Qigong

  • Thu 28th Jul, 10:30am. Thu 4th Aug, 10:30am. Thu 11th Aug, 10:30am. Thu 18th Aug, 10:30am. Thu 25th Aug, 10:30am. Thu 1st Sep, 10:30am. Thu 8th Sep, 10:30am. Thu 15th Sep, 10:30am. Thu 22nd Sep, 10:30am. Thu 29th Sep, 10:30am

Sessions in partnership with Tai Chi Nation, helping you achieve calm and peace of mind whilst gently exercising the whole body.

View Details >>
Craft of Printmaking (various times)

Craft of Printmaking (various times)

  • Mon 1st Aug, 10am. Tue 2nd Aug, 10am. Wed 3rd Aug, 10am. Mon 8th Aug, 10am. Tue 9th Aug, 10am. Wed 10th Aug, 10am. Mon 15th Aug, 10am. Tue 16th Aug, 10am. Wed 17th Aug, 10am. Mon 22nd Aug, 10am

Printmaking is one of the most intriguing and absorbing of the visual arts, and the potential for expressive improvisation and exploration in this pursuit is enormous

View Details >>
Extraordinary school for kids

Extraordinary school for kids

  • Wed 31st Aug, 10am. Mon 24th Oct, 10am

A day of challenges, skills and adventures for kids who love messing about in the woods with sticks, streams, mud, fires and a pinch of danger! Plus weaving, crafting, foraging, cooking and wild potions and lotions for those who dream of hedge witches and bandit queens!

View Details >>
Movement, Medicine, Dance group with Rosie Perks (8-week course)

Movement, Medicine, Dance group with Rosie Perks (8-week course)

  • Sun 4th Sep, 6:30pm. Thu 15th Sep, 7:15pm

Movement Medicine integrates the intelligence of our bodies with therapeutic, artistic and shamanic wisdom. This group is for anyone who wishes to explore their love of dancing in more depth with the support of a dedicated group.

View Details >>
Creative Writing For Aspiring Writers

Creative Writing For Aspiring Writers

  • Tue 6th Sep, 9am. Tue 13th Sep, 9am. Tue 20th Sep, 9am. Tue 27th Sep, 9am

This course aims to demystify the art of fiction writing and give writers the confidence to employ the same techniques that published writers use to get their work noticed. It really isn’t rocket science. Come along and find out what the secrets are to getting your writing noticed.

View Details >>
Crafted: Carpentry for Women-6 Week Morning Course

Crafted: Carpentry for Women-6 Week Morning Course

  • Wed 7th Sep 2016
  • 10am
  • £150.00

This course will focus on learning basic carpentry skills and creating a beautiful set of shelves and developing ideas for a personal carpentry project of your own for the future. Astrid Arnold has found teaching women carpentry skills leaves them empowered and with a 'can-do' approach. In her classes there is no pressure to know anything in advance and so just opens up a door to learning something completely new.

View Details >>
Crafted: Ceramics and the Sea

Crafted: Ceramics and the Sea

  • Sun 11th Sep, 10am. Mon 12th Sep, 10am | £420.00

Ceramics and the Sea - with Richenda McGregor and guests. This wonderful ceramic course begins in the sea and includes kelp firing, selecting your palate, firing with sand and making small pieces as adornments.

View Details >>
Crafted: Canoe Making-Weekend Course

Crafted: Canoe Making-Weekend Course

  • Sat 24th Sep 2016
  • 10am
  • £100.00

For those who hear the siren call that draws you to the water in your open canoe, this course is for you. This course is for anyone with a love of, or an interest in open canoes and canoeing.

View Details >>
Crafted: Shearling Moccasin Making (2 Day Workshop)

Crafted: Shearling Moccasin Making (2 Day Workshop)

  • Sat 24th Sep 2016
  • 10am
  • £210.00

Join shoe-maker Rose Choules on a two-day moccasin making workshop. You'll leave the course with a cosy pair of moccasins for winter!

View Details >>
Crafted: Woodworking-Coffee & Side Table-8 Week Course

Crafted: Woodworking-Coffee & Side Table-8 Week Course

  • Wed 28th Sep 2016
  • 6:30pm
  • £200.00

If you would like to design and make your own furniture but have no previous woodworking experience, a really good starter project is to build a coffee table for your home. This course will help you to learn some fundamental woodworking techniques using tools provided by Ambrose as you make a contemporary coffee table.

View Details >>
Crafted: Natural Beekeeping - 6 week course

Crafted: Natural Beekeeping - 6 week course

  • Thu 29th Sep 2016
  • 6:30pm
  • £100.00

This beekeeping course is an introduction to what has become known as ‘natural beekeeping’, which differs in some important respects from the conventional approach to this subject. Our focus will be on keeping bees for their own sake, rather than simply for the products of their labour. Of course, we also appreciate what they do for us and if there is a surplus of honey, we will be pleased to have some for ourselves.

View Details >>
Crafted: Landscape Painting at Dartington

Crafted: Landscape Painting at Dartington

  • Sat 8th Oct 2016
  • 10am
  • £1200.00

This is an artist's dream - a week painting outdoors in the glorious ground and gardens of Dartington.

View Details >>