Family days out

With a play area, Barn Kids film programme, kids workshops and a year-round programme of events, there’s plenty for families to get up to at Dartington.

Scroll further down for all family events, or see below for our ‘top things to do’. You’ll probably need a map of the estate which you can download here (pdf).

Food and drink

food and drink circle


Great quality, affordable food is available at Venus Cafe and Bayards Kitchen at The Shops at Dartington.

The Green Table, a vibrant, spacious new café near the Hall and Gardens, offers food for adults and children alike in a family-friendly atmosphere. Find out more here.

There are also plenty of picnic tables for al fresco dining – find them next to the Barn Cinema and wild play area.

Time to play

play circle


Our all-natural wild play area, designed and installed by EarthWrights, can be found opposite Space Studios, close to the main car park and Great Hall.

This a beautiful, gated safe space for children to play – and there are picnic tables too. Why not make a meal of it?

Get hands-on

child play


Dartington has a range of workshops for kids to get involved in throughout the year. Many can be found in our events system – see below – but it’s worth checking out the following brilliant organisations found on the Dartington estate: Dynamic Adventures (adrenaline-fuelled activities), WildWise (wild outdoor experiences), Crazy About Clay (pottery fun) Arts Lab (community arts workshops) and MudTots (forest school for smaller children). Some of these require booking or run at certain times, so make sure you check ahead.

Walking at Dartington

dog circle


Ah, the family walk. Love it or loathe it, there are plenty of beautiful walks to do here at Dartington – incorporating river paths, woodland scrambles and grassy meadows. Take a look at our estate walks page for ideas.

We have several dog-friendly fields (ie off lead areas) on the estate, and most of our paths are dog friendly too – although at certain times of year we exercise a ‘dogs on lead’ policy to protect ground nesting wildlife. Download our handy guide for details (pdf).


Upcoming family events – film, activity days, workshops and more

Monster Island (PG)

Monster Island (PG)

  • Sat 19th Aug, 2pm. Mon 21st Aug, 2pm. Tue 22nd Aug, 2pm. Thu 24th Aug, 2pm | £5.80

A young boy discovers he’s not entirely human and heads to Monster Island to discover his true identity in this fabulous new animated family adventure that fans of Monsters Inc. and Despicable Me will adore. When Lucas finds out he’s not really human and can transform into a monster, it changes his whole world

View Details >>
Menuhin

Menuhin's Violin

  • Sun 20th Aug, 9am. Mon 21st Aug, 9am. Tue 22nd Aug, 9am. Wed 23rd Aug, 9am. Thu 24th Aug, 9am. Fri 25th Aug, 9am

An installation by Heidi Hinder and Richard Barnard. Imagine yourself inside Yehudi Menuhin’s violin as it resonates with memories of the music it has played, the places it has travelled, and the people who continue to be affected by its owner’s legacy.

View Details >>
Dartington Gardens tours

Dartington Gardens tours

  • Wed 23rd Aug, 11am. Wed 30th Aug, 11am. Wed 6th Sep, 11am. Wed 13th Sep, 11am. Wed 20th Sep, 11am. Wed 27th Sep, 11am. Wed 4th Oct, 11am. Wed 11th Oct, 11am

Our volunteer-led tours are a brilliant opportunity to discover the secrets of our glorious Gardens.

View Details >>
Deer Park Guided Walks

Deer Park Guided Walks

  • Fri 25th Aug, 11:30am. Fri 1st Sep, 11:30am. Fri 8th Sep, 11:30am. Fri 15th Sep, 11:30am. Fri 22nd Sep, 11:30am. Fri 29th Sep, 11:30am. Fri 6th Oct, 11:30am. Fri 13th Oct, 11:30am. Fri 20th Oct, 11:30am. Fri 27th Oct, 11:30am

A 700-year-old story awaits you on our volunteer-led Deer Park tours – learn about the people who lived here, the magnificent landscape, the deer themselves and the abundant wildlife.

View Details >>
The Emoji Movie (3D) (PG)

The Emoji Movie (3D) (PG)

  • Sat 26th Aug, 2pm. Sun 27th Aug, 2pm. Tue 29th Aug, 2pm. Wed 30th Aug, 2pm | £5.80

View Details >>
The Emoji Movie (2D) (PG)

The Emoji Movie (2D) (PG)

  • Mon 28th Aug, 2pm. Thu 31st Aug, 11am | £5.80

Featuring the voices of T. J. Miller, James Corden, Anna Faris, Maya Rudolph and Patrick Stewart (as, the, er poop emoji!), this zippy, funny animation unlocks the world inside your mobile.

View Details >>
WildWise at Dartington

WildWise at Dartington

  • Wed 30th Aug, 10am. Mon 23rd Oct, 10am

Wildwise offer a range of experiences on the Dartington estate including bushcraft, kids camps, nightpaddles, wild food, family events, dangerous weekends and wild nights out.

View Details >>
Totnes Young Peoples Theatre

Totnes Young Peoples Theatre

  • Wed 6th Sep, 5:30pm. Wed 13th Sep, 5:30pm. Wed 20th Sep, 5:30pm. Wed 27th Sep, 5:30pm. Wed 4th Oct, 5:30pm. Wed 11th Oct, 5:30pm. Wed 18th Oct, 5:30pm. Wed 25th Oct, 5:30pm. Wed 1st Nov, 5:30pm. Wed 8th Nov, 5:30pm

An award-winning youth theatre, with a history of offering exciting opportunities for young people, TYPT has worked with many young people in mainstream, alternative and home education.

View Details >>
Seven wonders of the wild

Seven wonders of the wild

  • Fri 8th Sep, 7:30pm. Sun 29th Oct, 2pm. Fri 24th Nov, 7:30pm

In association with WildWise. A diverse menu of wild encounters and experiences to give you and your family that sense of wonder and reverence that underpins healthy nature connection.

View Details >>
Despicable Me 3 (3D) [U]

Despicable Me 3 (3D) [U]

  • Sat 9th Sep, 2pm. Sun 10th Sep, 2pm | £5.80

Gru faces off against Balthazar Bratt, a former child star who is obsessed with the character he played in the ‘80s, and proves to be Gru’s most formidable adversary to date.

View Details >>
Goodbye Christopher Robin [PG]

Goodbye Christopher Robin [PG]

  • Fri 29th Sep, 12:30pm & 3pm & 5:30pm. Sat 30th Sep, 2pm & 5pm & 8pm. Sun 1st Oct, 2pm & 5pm & 8pm. Mon 2nd Oct, 2pm | £5.80

Beloved children's author A. A. Milne (Domhnall Gleeson) and his son Christopher Robin – whose toys inspired Milne to create the magical world of Winnie-the-Pooh – are the subjects of this moving, nostalgic period drama, scripted by Frank Cottrell-Boyce and scored by Carter Burwell.

View Details >>
Dynamic Dartington Weekend

Dynamic Dartington Weekend

  • Sun 1st Oct 2017
  • 11am

Do you fancy setting yourself a challenge whilst raising money for charity? Enjoy a challenging 10 mile (approximately 800ft climb) trail race within the very scenic Dartington Estate in South Devon.

View Details >>
Late night Christmas shopping

Late night Christmas shopping

  • Thu 7th Dec 2017
  • 5:30pm

Join us at the The Shops at Dartington for music, mince pies, and mulled wine. There will be plenty of great offers throughout the Shops, too.

View Details >>
Christmas Fair at The Shops at Dartington

Christmas Fair at The Shops at Dartington

  • Sat 16th Dec, 10am. Sun 17th Dec, 10am

Celebrate Christmas at The Shops at Dartington’s annual Christmas Fair - music, magic and a host of activities in every shop!

View Details >>
Food Fair at The Shops at Dartington

Food Fair at The Shops at Dartington

  • Sun 27th May, 10am. Mon 28th May, 10am

This two day event will showcase the best of local produce, as well as arts, crafts and activities for all the family.

View Details >>
Open Farm Sunday

Open Farm Sunday

  • Sun 10th Jun 2018
  • 11am

Open Farm Sunday is a national, free event, with farmers across the country opening their gates to the general public - including those on and around the Dartington Hall estate.

View Details >>